Essential oils

Jodi Doehler

Begin forwarded message:

From: Vanessa Vandersande <copperhillanimalclinic>
Date: October 15, 2015 at 7:03:48 PM PDT
To: Jodi Doehler <iamceoofmyhome>
Subject: Re: Essential oils

That is a good question. I diffuse oils myself with cats in the house. I would say it would be a bad idea to diffuse if any of the cats have a respiratory condition and I try to do it away from their main living areas. However, the only information I can find about actual toxicity events was when the cat ingested or had essential oils applied directly to their hair or skin. Then there are multiple reports of liver failure, paralysis and death. So I guess the take home is if you want to be super safe, don’t use them, but definitely prevent ingestion and application to the skin.Best,
Vanessa

On Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 1:01 PM, Jodi Doehler <iamceoofmyhome> wrote:

Hi,

I have recently gotten into essential oils (young living) and I am so disappointed to read that some are toxic to cats. Is this true? I’m not planning on putting them on my cats but would like to diffuse and use some on myself topically. Do you have any experience in this area? Do you have a list of what is or isn’t safe for the cats? How much danger am I putting them in?

Thank you,

Jodi Doehler

Leave a Reply

